Committee to examine and recommend Schedule Tribe for 11 Gorkha communities - Ministry of Tribal Affairs

2nd April 2016

In a move that finally shows the seriousness of the Central government towards the welfare of the Gorkhali community in India, the Central Government of India has decided to constitute a committee to examine the demand for including 11 Gorkha communities into Scheduled Tribe status.
Indian Ministry of Tribal  Affairs has decided to constitute the Committee headed by Ashok Pai, Joint Secretary, Ministry of Tribal  Affairs to examine and recommend granting of Schedule Tribe to 11 Gorkha communities namely Bhujel, Gurung, Mangar, Newar, Jogi, Khas, Rai, Sunwar, Thami, Yakhha (Dewan) and Dhimal living in Gorkha dominated areas in India.

The committee is expected to submit the final report within 3 months.

Corresponding exclusively with TheDC, Darjeeling MP Shri SS Ahluwalia stated that, "the Central government is committed towards welfare and upliftment of Gorkhali community not only in Darjeeling, but all across India and this notification is a fruit of the hard work put in by Gorkhaland Territorial Administration, and Sikkim Government... I am hopeful that Gorkhalis will be recognized as Tribal community in all of India very soon."

The Government of India has strict norms under which communities are accorded ST status, however this is a major development for all the Gorkhalis in India and due credits should be accorded to Gorkhaland Territorial Administration, Govt of Sikkim and Govt of West Bengal who have pushed our demand to this point.

Photo Swaraj Thapa FB post

Via TheDC

Share this:

Post a Comment

Copyright © Indian Gorkhas. Designed by Darjeeling Web Solutions